Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

15 noviembre 2008

[Joel sticks the cassette tape in his stereo and listens his voice on it:]
‘The only way Clem thinks she can get people to like her…is to fuck ‘em…or at least dangle the possibility of getting fucked in front of’em. And she’s so desperate and insecure…that she’ll, sooner or later, go around fucking everybody.’

Clementine: I don’t do that.
Joel: I wouldn’t think that about you.
Clementine: Because I don’t.
Joel: I know.
Clementine: Because it really hurts me that you said that because I don’t do that. I’m so sorry. I’m sorry about all this. I’m gonna… go. I’m a little confused. I don’t really think I can be here. Um… bye.
Joel: Bye.

Clementine: It was nice meeting you and all.

[The tape continues while they are talking:]

‘I thought I knew her so well. But I don’t know her at all. What a loss to spend that much time with someone,only to finding out that she’s a stranger.’

[Clementine leaves Joel’s apartment]

Joel: Wait.
Clementine: What?
Joel: I don’t know. Just wait. Just wait.
Clementine: What do you want, Joel?
Joel: I don’t know. I want you to wait for… just a while.

Clementine: (silence) Okay. (silence) I’m not a concept, Joel. I’m just a fucked-up girl who’s looking for my own peace of mind. I’m not perfect.
Joel: I can’t see anything that I don’t like about you.
Clementine: Right now you can’t. But you will. But you will. You know, you will think of things, and I’ll get bored with you and feel trapped…because that’s what happens with me.
Joel(smiling): Okay.
Clementine: Okay..Okay(smiling). Okay!(laughing).


Responder

